Thank You, John Robert “Joe” Cocker, OBE

Posted on Updated on

A tribute to the life, the remarkable talent, and the decades of unforgettable performances that Joe Cocker gave us.

May he ‘rest in peace.’

“Death is not extinguishing the light; it is only putting out the lamp because the dawn has come.”–Rabindranath Tagore

 

Paul McCartney’s Statement Following The Passing Of Joe Cocker:

“’It’s really sad to hear about Joe’s passing,” began the statement from Paul McCartney.

“He was a lovely Northern lad who I loved a lot and like many people I loved his singing.  I was especially pleased when he decided to cover ‘With A Little Help From My Friends,’ and I remember him and Denny Cordell coming round to the studio in Saville Row and playing me what they’d recorded, and it was just mind blowing, totally turned the song into a soul anthem, and I was forever grateful for him for doing that.”

“I knew him through the years as a good mate,” McCartney continued, “and I was so sad to hear that he had been ill and really sad to hear today that he had passed away. He was a great guy, a lovely guy who brought so much to the world and we’ll all miss him.’”

 

Lyrics:  With A Little Help From My Friends

What would you do if I sang out of tune?
Would you stand up and walk out on me?
Lend me your ears and I’ll sing you a song
And I’ll try not to sing out of key

Oh, I get by with a little help from my friends
I get high with a little help from my friends
Gonna try with a little help from my friends

What do I do when my love is away?
(Does it worry you to be alone?)
How do I feel by the end of the day?
(Are you sad because you’re on your own?)

No, I get by with a little help from my friends
I get high with a little help from my friends
Gonna try with a little help from my friends

Do you need anybody? I need somebody to love
Could it be anybody? I want somebody to love

Would you believe in a love at first sight?
Yes, I’m certain that it happens all the time
What do you see when you turn out the light?
I can’t tell you but I know it’s mine

Oh, I get by with a little help from my friends
I get high with a little help from my friends
Gonna try with a little help from my friends

Do you need anybody? I need somebody to love
Could it be anybody? I want somebody to love

Oh, I get by with a little help from my friends
With a little help from my friends

Songwriters
LENNON, JOHN / MCCARTNEY, PAUL

Published by
Lyrics © Sony/ATV Music Publishing LLC

[Video Credit: Joe Cocker – With A Little Help Of [sic] My Friends – Woodstock 1969, Old music one, YouTube]

[McCartney statement excerpt from examiner.com, “Beatles Paul McCartney, Ringo Starr issue statements after death of Joe Cocker”]

2 thoughts on “Thank You, John Robert “Joe” Cocker, OBE

    linda wolf said:
    December 29, 2014 at 11:50 pm

    I invite you to come to my blog post about Joe Cocker, who was a dear friend I worked with and traveled with as one of the two women photographers on the Joe Cocker Mad Dogs and Englishmen Tour. Please enjoy my post and photos about Joe and join me on my website for more photos and stories: http://www.lindawolf.net

    Like

      unabashedliberal responded:
      December 30, 2014 at 6:42 am

      Thank you, Ms Wolf.

      I am honored to have a friend of Mr Cocker’s, and a photographer of your stature, visit my blog.

      I did visit your blog, Linda Wolf Photography, and recommend that readers check it out.

      Not only are the photos of Mr Cocker excellent and most interesting, I very much enjoyed the video that you posted from the Mad Dogs and Englishmen Tour.

      My condolences during this time of loss.

      UL

      Like

Leave a Reply

